Social Studies
2021-02-23 10:06:36
How many new countries were created by the Treaty of Versailles? Compare this map to the map of Europe in 1914.
2021-02-23 10:28:58

The Treaty of Versailles, signed on June 28, 1919, marks the end of World War I. The Treaty, among several financial clauses and military restrictions, created a number of territorial changes on the map of Europe. Austria-Hungary was split into many parts and certain new countries were born: Austria, Hungary, Bosnia, Slovena and Croatia. Part of Bulgaria gave birth to a new state, Macedonia. The state of Czechoslovakia was now recognized, as well as Serbia and Montenegro united under one country, Yugoslavia. Russia lost control over a part of its territory by the Baltic Sea and so Estonia, Finland, Latvia and Lithuania were created.